School of Rock – Day 6 – Bass Basics

SUMMARY

Today was very chill, we mostly just did our rooms like usual but with more autonomy and with more time to collaborate and do the things we would like to work on. Today our theme was bass and I really got to know the routes of bass and how it is used.

CLASSROOM

Watch How Bass Works (47 minutes)

  1. Bass started in organs at churches.
  2. The bass line in a tune usually goes from one chord or note to another.
  3. Bass is used often with a walking bass line.
  4. Bass has widely progressed and has undergone many changes over the years. Its style and instrumentation have varied also.
  5. Bass has overtaken melodies harmonies and chords in there importance in music.

screenshot from HookTab
Screenshot from HookLab

I learned how important bass is for a song and how vital it is to develop a beat and a composition thoroughly.

PRACTICE ROOM

from Tomas Michaud video

I thought This was really helpful and I think this really helped me know more about guitar and how it works.

Profile in Excellence

Screenshot from Polyphonic at YouTube
Image from Wikipedia
  • He was a legendary composer for bass and he was one of the greats.

OUTSIDE / JOURNAL / IDEAS

Screenshot from Quizlet Bass Composition Techniques

Like yesterday I really thought about how to make my music better and how to improve on what I know and can do so far. I was mainly thinking about mixing and mastering for the songs I already have, and what I need to do to make them sound better and more unique.

STUDIO

Screenshot from Kidsguitarzone.com

I don’t really play guitar, but from what I can here it sounds pretty cool!

CONTROL ROOM

I wrote a 808 pattern with a 808 I found in Soundtrap, it was pretty cool and Soundtrap is a really great online DAW.

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

Me and Nayel made a song yesterday and I really enjoyed working on that! I got a chance to use the mixing headphones to see how our mix worked with different sounds and speakers. I practiced on the drum set which was pretty cool and today was overall just really chill.

DAILY ACTIVITY EVALUATION

0 Replies to “School of Rock – Day 6 – Bass Basics”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *